Posted by: marthacoolcat | November 11, 2008

The Half Nakedness Police

On my last day in Tanzania, I got a free ride with  Dennis to the city of Moshi, and I stayed at the YMCA.  There I had a really invigorating swim, but I had a little trouble.  I had seen the signs prohibiting “half-nakedness” anywhere other than at the pool.  When I went down there was a man who I took to be a lifeguard.  But no, there are more important things to be guarded, specifically causing people to see half-nakedness.  He told me I couldn’t swim in a two piece pathing suit.  I said I’ll keep my t-shirt on.  He said the bottoms have to be shorts, I showed him my boy-short style bottoms (possibly endangering him via visual exposure!).  He conceded that they were acceptable, (PHEW) and if you don’t get past his checkpoint, you can’t swim.  I dove in completely dry and felt happy and floaty and free in the water.


Responses

  1. If I remember correctly there was a warning sign which VERY clearly stated “Halfnakedness due to wearing swimming costume is allowed only in the swimming pool area and prohibited in the kiosk area, cafeteria & reception lobby.” Of course, this says nothing about the complete ban on 3/4 nakedness due to wearing a skimpy swimming costume…

  2. Here is the sign:
    Beware of halfnakedness

    • Awesome! Yep that’s it. Thanks!


Leave a comment

Categories